learning goal: deepen your understanding of of a typical Shakespearean sonnet’s conceptual arrangement

By the end of class,  submit–to TURNITIN, on the prescribed template (with default header and footer)–your own paraphrase of Shakespeare’s sonnet “That time of year,” distributed in class last week.  Be sure to acknowledge any help you have received.

For format, type the poem in bold regular font and the paraphrase in italics directly under each line.  For example, see my paraphrasing of the first quatrain in Shakespeare’s sonnet #29:

When, in disgrace with fortune and men’s eyes,

When I’m unlucky and people look down on me

I all alone beweep my outcast state,

When I cry by myself about my not fitting in

And trouble deaf heaven with my bootless cries,

And cry even to heaven without any change in my situation

And look upon myself and curse my fate,

When I think about my situation and swear at my terrible luck

_________________________

With the remaining time and for homework, individually search The Poetry Foundation’s site for a twentieth century (or 21st century) sonnet to print, place in your Poetry Workbook and bring to Tuesday’s class.  Be ready to explain reasons behind your choice.

 

